LSU Football: Its Time for the Buzzies

The layoff between bowl season and national recruiting day can be excruciating for college football fans. Weeks and weeks of hype about the status of your program can cause the most median fan to become insane. I say we take a small break from becoming insane and say thank you to some of the departing seniors in the first ever Buzzies awards.

The premise is simple, I will give numerous awards out to departing LSU football seniors. Why seniors? Because they deserve it. Not taking anything away from the underclassmen who declared early for the NFL, but they will get their award on draft day. This is for the players who stayed loyal to the program for four years. The Buzzies are just given to anyone, they are only reserved for the best of class. I can tell you’re excited, let’s get to it.

Most under-appreciated LSU Tigers:

And the winner is…Ron Brooks

A winner by a landslide, Brooks was a great reserve for LSU. Not only could Brooks come in and play the nickel-back position, but he could also lockdown opponent’s receivers. In limited play, Brooks finished the year with 30 tackles, 6.5 tackles for loss, 3.5 sacks, two interception, three fumble recoveries and two forced fumbles. Again only a back up. Brooks was also a great special team’s contributor. Brooks was one of the main reasons that LSU in the first 13 games only gave up six punt return yards, all year!

Most Over-Hyped LSU Tiger:

And the winner is…Deangelo Peterson

Not the award that any of the senior wanted, but Peterson was most deserving. Sure, you can make the argument that LSU’s passing game, or lack there of, is the reason for Peterson’s poor play. In three nationally televised games (Oregon, Mississippi State and Alabama) I can vividly recall the announcers talk about how talented Peterson was. Peterson only had 18 catches this season and struggled to stay on the field because of his liability with run blocking. In his junior and senior year, LSU threw 29 touchdowns and Peterson only had one of those (2011 Northwestern State).

Best Name:

And the winner is…Stephon Francois.

Francois did have tough competition from T-Bob Hebert, but come on, the right man won. I would like to thank him for not covering up this name with some silly nickname, but staying true to the construction of this glorious name. In what profession can he go into where Stephon Francois doesn’t sound cool. Nothing coming to mind on this end.

Worst Touchdown of the Year:

And the winner is…James Stampley

Congratulations to Mr. Stampley. Stampley only carried the ball three times this year for two yards, but one of those was quiet possibly the ugliest touchdown in 2011. LSU was already up big at Ole Miss. The Tigers had the ball on the Rebel one yard line. Les Miles wanted to reward the senior with his first score in his career. After two unsuccessful carries, LSU called a full back dive on third down. The hand off exchange was not clean, Stampley and Jarrett Lee decided to play merry-go-round with the football before Stampley grabbed it and scored.

Jordan Jefferson appreciation award:

And the winner is…Jarrett Lee

This award not only covers Lee’s senior year, but also his entire career. Following Lee’s freshman year, it is amazing that he wasn’t run out of Baton Rouge. Instead he sat back and let Jordan Jefferson turn himself into the worst quarterback in LSU history. Starting in 2010, the fans were ready for Lee to now turn himself into…an average quarterback and he did. He not only won their redemption, but in 2011 he became an icon. After leading the team to a 9-0 record, he played his worst game since 2008 at Alabama. Lee was pulled from the game early and it seemed like to story was over. But thanks to Jefferson’s play in the BCS title game, Lee has supplanted his legacy as the greatest back-up quarterback in LSU history (Here is the short list: Jarrett Lee, Rohan Davey and Matt Flynn).

Come back tomorrow for the second installment of the Buzzies.

Next Tigers Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Oct 2525 Oct6:15Mississippi RebelsBuy Tickets

Tags: Awards DeAngelo Peterson James Stampley Jarrett Lee Jordan Jefferson LSU LSU Football Ron Brooks Stephon Francois

comments powered by Disqus