LSU Tigers Football: Accolades Rolling In for Tigers

The 2014 regular season for the LSU Tigers is in the books. Fans and pundits alike can debate whether an 8-4 record qualifies as a “down” year or not; there are plenty of teams around that would have liked to finish up with 8 wins. That said, this LSU team is talented, and this is being recognized via the number of postseason awards and accolades that are rolling in.

It is true that some of the recognition is for the seniors on this LSU squad, guys who won’t be around next year. Some of the recognition is for the younger players on the team, and a great argument can be made that the future is bright for the LSU Tigers.

Without turning this piece into a treatise on how well Les Miles and the coaching staff can recruit, we will let the following speak for itself…

Postseason Awards

  • Senior OT La’el Collins – First-Team Associated Press All-SEC, First-Team All-SEC (as voted by the SEC coaches), and recipient of the SEC’s Jacobs Blocking Trophy. Collins also received the Charles McClendon Award as LSU’s most valuable player.
  • Senior S Ronald Martin – Second-Team Associated Press All-SEC.
  • Junior LB Kwon Alexander – Second-Team Associated Press All-SEC.
  • Junior OL Vadal Alexander – Honorable Mention Associated Press All-SEC, Second-Team All-SEC (as voted by the SEC coaches).
  • Junior P Jamie Keehn – Second-Team All-SEC (as voted by the SEC coaches).
  • Freshman RB Leonard Fournette – SEC All-Freshman Team (Fournette earned two selections as both a running back and an all-purpose athlete).
  • Freshman WR Malachi Dupre – SEC All-Freshman Team.
  • Freshman  DB Jamal Adams – SEC All-Freshman Team. Regarding Adams, who has great football instincts reminiscent of Tyrann Mathieu, has received high praise from none other than the Honey Badger. Mathieu said recently that Adams “will be the best safety in college ball next year.”

Bowl game invites

Senior Bowl – OT La’el Collins, FB Connor Neighbors
East-West Shrine Game – S Ronald Martin, DE Jermauria Rasco, RB Terrence Magee, RB Kenny Hilliard
NFLPA Bowl LB D.J. Welter

LSU Football Banquet Awards

Wild Tiger Club (for special teams performance):              

LB Duke Riley, DB Jamal Adams, LB Deion Jones, SNP Reid Ferguson, PK Colby Delahoussaye, CB Tre’Davious White, TE Dillon Gordon, P Jamie Keehn, LB Kendell Beckwith, TE Travis Dickson, RB Terrence Magee, CB  Ed Paris, DB Rickey Jefferson, TE Logan Stokes, CB Jalen Collins, PK Trent Domingue

Special Teams Coaches Award:

DB Jamal Adams, LB Deion Jones, CB Tre’Davious White, SNP Reid Ferguson, P Jamie Keehn, LB D. J. Welter

Wild Tiger Championship Trophy:

LB Duke Riley

Jeff Boss Unsung Hero Award:

TE Logan Stokes, TE Travis Dickson, TE Dillon Gordon, OG Evan Washington, CB Jalen Collins, WR Travin Dural, LB Lamar Louis

Dr. Charles E. Coates, Academic Award:                

DB Chris LaBorde

Alvin Roy Strength and Conditioning Award:

RB Terrence Magee, LB D. J. Welter, OT La’el Collins

Butch Duhe Award:       

RB Kenny Hilliard, OL Ethan Pocic, CB Jalen Mills, DT Quentin Thomas, C Elliott Porter, LB Kendell Beckwith, OT Jerald Hawkins

George M. Wallace Memorial Award:

S Ronald Martin, DE Danielle Hunter

Newcomers Award: 

DT Davon Godchaux, DB Jamal Adams, RB Leonard Fournette

National L-Club Permanent Team Captains:

Offense:  OT La’el Collins, RB Terrence Magee

Defense:  DE Jermauria Rasco, LB Kwon Alexander

Special Teams: P Jamie Keehn

Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Offensive Player Award:

OT La’el Collins, FB Connor Neighbors

Percy E. Roberts Outstanding Defensive Player Award: 

DE Jermauria Rasco, LB Kwon Alexander

Charles McClendon Most Valuable Player Award:

OT La’el Collins