SEC Women's Basketball Tournament, LSU receives double bye

The LSU women's basketball begins their postseason journey to become back-to-back National Champions.

LSU's Angel Reese (10) signals to a teammate while guarded by Tennessee's Karoline Striplin (11).
LSU's Angel Reese (10) signals to a teammate while guarded by Tennessee's Karoline Striplin (11). / Saul Young/News Sentinel / USA TODAY

The defending National Champion LSU women's basketball team is set to begin their postseason run tomorrow as they begin the SEC Tournament. Well, let's rephrase that, the SEC Tournament does start tomorrow, but LSU is the two-seed and will get a double bye.

The Tigers finished the season with a 26-4 overall record going 13-2 in the SEC. A loss to No. 20 Colorado early in the season shocked many, especially with the speculation of where star player Angel Reese was. LSU did not lose another game until they hit conference play where they suffered losses at the hands of Auburn, No. 1 South Carolina, and Mississippi State. After the back-to-back losses to South Carolina and Mississippi State, the Tigers went on to win eight straight games to finish the season.

Before the postseason tournament begins, the SEC has released conference awards and the Tiger brought home their fair share. Reese won SEC Player of the Year for the first time in her career and Mikaylah Williams won SEC Freshman of the Year.

The SEC Women's Basketball Tournament will run from March 6 through March 10 in Bon Secours Wellness Arena in Greenville, South Carolina. Games in the first and second rounds and quarterfinals will be aired on SEC Network, the semifinal games with be on ESPNU, and the championship game on ESPN.

Here is the schedule for the tournament with matchups and game times.

First Round: Wednesday, March 6

Game 1: No. 12 Kentucky vs. No. 13 Georgia, 11:00 a.m. ET, SEC Network
Game 2: No. 14 vs. Missouri vs. No. 11 Florida, 1:30 p.m. CT, SEC Network

Second Round: Thursday, March 7

Game 3: No. 8 Mississippi State vs. No. 9 Texas A&M, Noon ET, SEC Network
Game 4: No. 5 Tennessee vs. Game 1 Winner, 2:30 p.m. ET, SEC Network
Game 5: No. 10 Arkansas vs. No. 7 Auburn, 6:00 p.m. ET, SEC Network
Game 6: No. 6 Vanderbilt vs. Game 2 Winner, 9:00 p.m. ET, SEC Network

Quarterfinal: Friday, March 8

Game 7: Game 3 Winner vs. No. 1 South Carolina, Noon ET, SEC Network
Game 8: Game 4 Winner vs. No. 4 Alabama, 2:00 p.m. ET, SEC Network
Game 9: Game 5 Winner vs. No. 2 LSU, 6:00 p.m. ET, SEC Network
Game 10: Game 6 Winner vs. No. 3 Ole Miss, 9:30 p.m. ET, SEC Network

Semifinal: Saturday, March 9

Game 11: Game 8 Winner vs. Game 9 Winner, 4:30 p.m. ET, ESPNU
Game 12: Game 10 Winner vs. Game 9 Winner, 7:00 p.m. ET, ESPNU

Championship: Sunday, March 10

Game 13: Game 11 Winner vs. Game 12 Winner, 3:00 p.m. ET, ESPN

Up Next: