SEC football: 2015 Heisman hopefuls

1 of 5

Dec 30, 2014; Los Angeles, CA, USA; General view of the 1968 Heisman Trophy of Southern California Trojans tailback O.J. Simpson (not pictured) at Heritage Hall. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Which SEC football players have a shot at bringing home the coveted Heisman Trophy this season?

The SEC has been home to four of the past eight Heisman Trophy winners, a tradition that the conference will look to get back to in 2015.

More from Death Valley Voice

Johnny Manziel was the last SEC player to bring home the honors, when he did so in 2013 for the Texas A&M Aggies. This year provides a great opportunity for the award to make a return to the best conference in college football.

If the past five seasons are any indicator, however, anyone who is not a signal-caller will be facing an uphill battle.

Quarterbacks have won The Heisman every year since 2009, when former Alabama running back Mark Ingram, Jr. won the award. If the SEC has an abundance of talent anywhere this season, though, it is at the running back position, signaling a potential changing of the guard.

That being said, there is one SEC quarterback who will be making a serious run at the Heisman, and he could easily become the frontrunner if his team experiences early season success again this year.

Only time will tell, but the award could go to a seasoned veteran, or a talented sophomore building off of an impressive freshman season. With a wide open race, expect the favorite to change almost weekly until December.

Here is a look at the four potential Heisman Trophy candidates in the SEC this season:

Next: Dak Prescott